New IT Certifications

CompTIA-LogoNew Certifications Offered to IT Students

Fountainhead College of Technology is now providing industry certification vouchers to its Information Technology students* at no additional cost.

Beginning in January 2013 students in the Information Technology Associate’s Degree program can earn up to seven industry-recognized certifications as part of their coursework. Previously, students had to purchase each of the eight certifications exams, which cost nearly $800.


The following vouchers will be provided at no cost to IT students beginning in January 2013.

  1. CC 1 - Comptia A+ 220-801
  2. CC 1 - Comptia A+ 220-802
  3. IT3 - Microsoft Technology Associate 98-349 Windows Operating Systems Fundamentals
  4. IT3 - Microsoft Technology Associate 98-365 Windows Server Administration Fundamentals
  5. IT3 - Microsoft Technology Associate 98-366 Networking Fundamentals
  6. IT3 - Microsoft Technology Associate 98-367 Security Fundamentals
  7. CC2 - Microsoft Technology Associate 98-364 Database Administration Fundamentals

NSA-SEALwebStudents completing the IT program will also be awarded the Information Systems Security Professional certification (NSTISSI 4011), which is mapped to National Security Agency standards. This certification, along with five others designated by the NSA, is awarded to graduates of the Network Security and Forensics Bachelor Degree program. 

Fountainhead College is one of only 9 Centers of Academic Excellence nationwide that grant all six certifications that meet standards from the National Security Agency Committee on National Security Systems. This program is the only cybersecurity bachelor’s degree offered by the CAEIAE in Tennessee, and the only college in East Tennessee that offers all six national certifications offered by the CAEIAE. 

These significant improvements to our curriculum will offer Fountainhead graduates yet another occasion to shine as the best of new candidates available for job offerings in information technology. 

*Current students who have already completed CC1 are not eligible to obtain the A+ voucher, however they can take the MTA and 4011 certifications.

In addition to offering the Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) certifications to Associate Degree-seeking students, Fountainhead is now a CompTIA Authorized Academy Partner, which allows students significant discounts on all IT certifications. Below is CompTIA's IT Certification Roadmap:




Back to Top